29 August – Not Perfect

In the photo: Strawberry Singh
Location: Second Life

ALMOST PERFECT BUT NOT QUITE

“Almost perfect… but not quite.”
Those were the words of Mary Hume
At her seventh birthday party,
Looking ‘round the ribboned room.”
This table cloth is pink not white—
Almost perfect… but not quite.”

“Almost perfect… but not quite.”
Those were the words of grown-up Mary
Talking about her handsome beau,
The one she wasn’t gonna marry.
“Squeezes me a bit too tight—
Almost perfect… but not quite.”

“Almost perfect… but not quite.”
Those were the words of ol’ Miss Hume
Teaching in the seventh grade,
Grading papers in the gloom
Late at night up in her room.
“They never cross their t’s just right—
Almost perfect… but not quite.”

Ninety-eight the day she died
Complainin’ ‘bout the spotless floor.
People shook their heads and sighed,
“Guess that she’ll like heaven more.”
Up went her soul on feathered wings,
Out the door, up out of sight.
Another voice from heaven came
“Almost perfect… but not quite.”
-Shel Silverstein

I am my own worst enemy. I am Mary Hume, kind of depressing actually. Shel Silverstein has been one of my favorite poets since I was a child and this one to me is one of his best works. The words are so powerful. I’m still working on letting go and accepting the imperfections. For now, I will just wallow in my self-pity a bit longer.

You can find style credits on my flickr.

Tags: , ,

Categories: World Today

Author:Strawberry Singh

Strawberry Singh is a resident of the virtual world Second Life™ She is an avid blogger, photographer and social media enthusiast.

5 Comments on “29 August – Not Perfect”

  1. Thursday, 30 August 2012 at 05:59 UTC #

    If you are too hard on yourself, perhaps you should listen to others point of view. I suspect if you do you’ll find a lot to enjoy about your accomplishments. Self-pity can be enjoyable from time to time, but a little pride is enjoyable too. Beautiful pic Berry… I can’t wait to see what you do with my pic. Hugs

  2. Thursday, 30 August 2012 at 11:00 UTC #

    ““The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself.” Anna Quindlen.

    My god, how I’ve wrestled with this. Where did this idea come from? The idea that, somehow, like polishing an impossible mirror, we need to be rid of the very imperfections that make us all so unique and so very beautiful.

    This idea reminds me of Kristine Schomaker’s post Persuasion, where she shares a touching video portraying her journey to bring her real life self more in line with her second self on SL. I couldn’t help but think… “Of course you can do that if you really want to – and what a great exercise in revealing the true you that you feel that you are and how wonderfully aspirational… But, you are so beautiful already, and so uniquely you. Please, give yourself the credit you deserve.”

    But I can appreciate where she coming from, and also where she is aiming to go. As I live in my Second Body, I too am challenged by my own desires for perfection, as I aim to portray that perfect image of myself in everyway, while I live in the snarly rucksack of human imperfections that make up who I really am.

    I think the worst thing about striving for perfection, like Mary Hume, like you, like me and all of us, is that we so carelessly throw away what we have right in front of us, and right within us, in a futile effort to have what can never truly be ours.

  3. Saturday, 01 September 2012 at 05:56 UTC #

    aww, *sniffle*

    anyway, what a beautiful photograph 🙂

  4. Tuesday, 04 September 2012 at 23:37 UTC #

    This photo makes me wonder, should I publish the beautiful nude that Berry photographed of me? It’s quite exquisite and no one except iRez readers will see it. Hmmmm… i need help from out leader.

    • Saturday, 08 September 2012 at 15:40 UTC #

      hahaha, oh Yordie! Do you even have to ask? Of course you should publish it! And, as you noted yourself, no one but iRez readers will ever see it anyway! It’s not like people tear these photos off the net and then photoshop your head onto someone else’s body and post it on 4Chan or anything!

      /me cackles!

      wow… what a cackly sort of day it is!

