The New Girl

Me in Yayoi Kusama’s Fireflies on the Water, 2002 @ the Whitney. 

Hello readers! I am Jacque from thedreambeing.com and I am excited to do some guest posting over here in the salon. But first, a little about myself. Since the moment I picked up my first camera 10 years ago, I have been a photographer. (My former photo professor, Betsy Schneider always used to say.. If there is a choice to be a photographer or do something else.. do something else. Photographers have no choice.) I can’t begin to tell you how true this is for me. My camera led me to Arizona State’s coveted Photography program, where I worked in the on-campus gallery and became interested in curating. I pursued a second degree in Art History while interning as a Curatorial Assistant for two major museums in Arizona. I am currently a Graduate student at Sotheby’s Institute of Art, in New York City studying for a Master’s degree in Contemporary Art.

Self Portrait, from Displacement Series, 2010 See more of my work here. 

I am interested in how the internet is changing the role of a photograph. Not only does it make photographs more accessible through social media sites like facebook, twitter, instagram, and even blogs like this one, but these sites are also renegotiating the function of a photograph. As a photographer by placing your images on the web, you are reaching a broader audience by giving up  control of your image. Once a photograph hits the web, it is nearly impossible to determine who sees your work and what they do with it. There are also artists using the internet and the computer to make work, turning a virtual “non-space” into a physical reality. The photographers role has shifted greatly within the two decades and I am constantly exploring  the how, the why, and what does it truly mean for the future of photography..

It is my mission to engage with photography and Contemporary art on a daily basis. In my next posts, I will continue exploring these ideas, show ya’ll what is happening on the New York Art scene, and share new artists and work. I hope to learn from you and provoke thought. Please feel to ask me any thing or let me know what you’d like me to post about!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Art & AH Resources, Blogs

Author:Jacque

www.thedreambeing.com

12 Comments on “The New Girl”

  1. Monday, 20 August 2012 at 19:19 UTC #

    Hi Jacque “the New Girl’ *smiles* There is never enough photographers in the work. I’m thinking about selling my film camera, but am still emotionally attached, although financially I’ve lost the attachment. Do you do film photography? For me, photography has become part of every story I try to tell and far too often I suspect it is the story.

    • Monday, 20 August 2012 at 19:20 UTC #

      *work = world (mind is malfunctioning regularly these days)

    • Tuesday, 21 August 2012 at 03:13 UTC #

      Hello Yordie! I actually primarily shoot in film still. I just can’t let go even as fewer and fewer places develop medium and 35 mm. I shoot medium format mainly with a Bronica-GS-1 but I collect old cameras and love shooting with them for the happy accidents and light leaks. What kind of camera do you have? Your statement about photographs being a part of every story is completely true for me too, especially as certain photographs take me back to a specific year or moment.. it’s weird how much I associate a time with a photograph. But it’s just part of who I am.

  2. Monday, 20 August 2012 at 19:51 UTC #

    Hi “New Girl” and welcome to iRez! 😀

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about what you encounter there in NY and am curious to see more of your work. Hope to see more of it soon! 🙂

    • Tuesday, 21 August 2012 at 03:14 UTC #

      Thanks Ravanel for the warm welcome! I am excited to share with ya’ll and get to know the community better! 🙂

  3. Monday, 20 August 2012 at 21:01 UTC #

    Hi Jacque! WELCOME TO iREZ!!! As Ravanel ‘n Yordie have already said, we’re so excited to have you here.

    You’re actually the first of 2 new authors to iRez, Melissa Darby will be joining us shortly from London.

    I don’t want to sell the entire rest of this huge, amazing world of culture short at all, but obviously you can’t get much more cosmopolitan than New York & London, so it’s really exciting to have you “reporting” from NYC & Melissa from London.


    Your ideas about photography are SO exciting! From Ansel Adams and Edward Weston to Cindy Sherman and Nikki S. Lee, the nature and function of photography has evolved so much.

    Obviously there still are “master craftspersons” in the tradition of Group f64, and their work can be breathtaking, still, in the hands of a Sherman or Lee, photography’s ability to reflect and examine culture is remarkable.

    I’d also say that iRez has been a lot about the nature of “Identity” and “Reality” in the contemporary world… in many cases as mediated by virtual world and avatar experiences. But I think it’s both true that photography plays a huge role in those “avatar dreams” and that the ideas you describe are really about similar concepts experienced thru photo that some of us explore thru avatars.

    The ideas you introduced about images and the internet are an amazing fountain of future-now. I’ve been thinking a lot about “Images that Think”… I forget what, in the narrative, you have to do make “Gremlins” go “active”… but at some point they transform from “Dolls” to “Agents” and I think photography is at exactly that moment now.

    In the past we took pictures and put them places. Today images carry their own metadata portfolios with them. In the future they may well become independent agents. They already “do stuff at night” that the photographer may not be aware of, or perhaps not even have had any idea at all of.

    If you know “Photosynth” it can take thousands of images, find congruences, and extrapolate a 3D space from 2D images crawled for example, from flickr. In Blaise Aguera y Arcas famous Notre Dame Cathedral demo, many thousands of images from different users all “work together” to rectify a 3D cathedral that non of the original photographers of this or that detail could possibly their photos would one day be contributing to — while theyr’e asleep. And it even transferred metadata… so if you took the time to name the saints on the facade and I didn’t.. your metadata can now transfer to my images.

    In James Hays & Alexei Efros from Carnegie Mello’s famous “Scene Completion” research, your perfect Greek Isles vacation photo, messed up by the car in front of the majestic bay, can be “fixed” by letting the software download a million flickr images and “find” the missing parts of your image.

    These and many other “Images That Think” projects fascinate me not so much for the gee whiz factor, but for the nature of reality issues. Is your “fixed” Greek Isle vacation photo now “fake” because it isn’t “really” what you saw? Or is it “more real than real” because it IS what you felt?

    In my Building Communities with Strangers post
    http://irez.me/2012/05/13/building-communities-with-strangers/

    a Melbourne photographer and a London photographer end up “working together” on a page they never could have imagined would exist when they made their images, but was “enabled” by their choice of Creative Commons licenses.

    I want to say more about how your thoughts on the nature of photography intersect with other ideas on iRez, but maybe that should be a separate comment! 🙂

    • Tuesday, 21 August 2012 at 03:22 UTC #

      Very interesting points you bring up. I am not familiar with Photosynth but am going to do a ton of research because that does create and elaborate on ways photographs are functioning on the internet. One of my favorite Contemporary Art artists, Penelope Umbrico takes “found” flickr photos off the internet searching key words like “Sunset.” She then takes the photographs she find and prints them out transforming them into a giant wall of suns, creating a work of art of a cliched shared experience. It is quite fascinating how photographs can be so personal and intimate yet, thousands of people have the exact same moment and when placed together, the meaning shifts… this reminds me of the program you speak of that stitches together missing photographs.

      I am excited to keep exploring these ideas with you.

  4. Monday, 20 August 2012 at 21:20 UTC #

    Jacque, your ideas on photography remind me of an amazing story.

    I got a phone call a while back from this woman Joan. An old friend of my mom’s. My mom’s phone number had changed and was unlisted and Joan found my number instead so called to see if I could give her my mom’s number.

    When I answered the phone she said “Hi Vanessa, I know you don’t know me, but my name is Joan…”

    My reply was “JOAN! How are you?!?”

    I knew well, or knew of well, this person I hadn’t seen for pretty much my entire lifetime because of an old photo my dad took of Joan & her now ex-husband Marvin when they visited my parents place in DC. Marvin had this cool bolo tie on and Joan had these great cat glasses and this amazing emerald dress. I’d wondered since forever what ever happened to the woman in the emerald dress.

    So when Joan called and said, Hi, you don’t know me — she couldn’t have been more wrong.

    But here’s the amazing thing…

    I gave her my mom’s number, and then we talked for a while, and THEN she told me how her son Danny had grown up and what he was up to and she talked about how Danny and I used to play in my parents’ backyard in DC…

    I HAD NO IDEA THERE EVER WAS A DANNY!

    I imagine what might have happened was that Joan & Marvin would come over and I’d talk to them, probably for 5 seconds or something, and then Danny and I went outside and played, possibly for hours. Yet I had no memory of the kid I might have played with for hours, and vivid memory of the woman I likely spoke to for 5 seconds.

    Why?

    Because my dad had the famous photo of Joan & Marvin. And Danny wasn’t in it.

    The truth is, although I “thought” that I remembered Joan… thought that I had “organic” memory of her… I actually had no memory of any of them… what I had was “offline memory”… what I had was a photograph.

    My dad’s photograph had seamlessly integrated into my consciousness, into my reality, so that the “photo document” became to me “the real”… but the document included some things, some people, and not others… and so went my reality…

    • Tuesday, 21 August 2012 at 02:12 UTC #

      Wow Vaneeesa, that’s a pretty convincing example (and a bit creepy in a way, too). Funny how our brains just sews things together so that it makes sense to us without informing us what it just did. Bad brain!

      • Tuesday, 21 August 2012 at 04:30 UTC #

        “bad brain” — hahaha — like “Baby Doll” by Laurie Anderson where her brain says

        Why don’t you get a real job?

    • Tuesday, 21 August 2012 at 03:24 UTC #

      Very interesting and shows just how differently photographs can function. The “Truth” of an image is one thing, but the memory one pairs with the image is just as strong. Which is more important? What is more real? interesting indeed!

