Carol Cheh – Perform Chinatown

CHINATOWN, LOS ANGELES, 23 July — Carol Cheh reflects on the weekend’s performance works at “Perform Chinatown”

Another Righteous Transfer!

Reviewing this year’s Perform Chinatownfor the LA Weekly gave me a chance to reflect a little on the history of the event and the reasons for its various successes and failures. First of all, curatorial vision really matters here. The organizers need to get along with one another, they need to know the field intimately, and they need to have a discernible vision. A large public event like this veers too easily into chaos, and the brains and the dynamics behind the scenes have a direct effect on the strength and cohesion of the final product.

Second, context and framing are everything. The first two glorious years were serious presentations that aimed for a literate crowd and produced memorable works. The last couple of years have suffered from a RenFayre-like quality where family entertainment seems to be the aim and random people are invited in to check out what…

View original post 227 more words

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Performance Art

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.

One Comment on “Carol Cheh – Perform Chinatown”

  1. Tuesday, 24 July 2012 at 04:44 UTC #

    I would have loved to have brought “The Emperor’s New Clothes” back as a moving performance piece, but did not hear about this year’s even until it was too late.

