Alex Konczal

FORT WILLIAMS, MAINE, 22 July — We reach for the stars, we plumb the depths of our global brain, and even as we measure the connections of 2 billion wired human brains, Alex Konczal stands on the beach and stacks rocks.

I Stack Rocks

Went to the beach at fort williams with my little brother today and did this. I’ve done three stacks recently that fell before I could photograph them, so I took some photos of this one midway through the process, just as insurance against another disaster.

I started out with a concept of alternating layers of large, loosely stacked stones and small, tightly stacked stones, but as I built the process took over and drove me up and up, ignoring craft, style, and repetition, consumed with the need for height. at the end, I was reaching far above my head while standing on top of another stone – a dangerous position to balance in, for sure. it’s much harder to balance something you can’t see in its entirety. I rarely do it, but I had the midway photos, so I took the risk. if I had a step ladder, I’d be…

View original post 79 more words

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Sculpture

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
