22 July – Day 17

This surreal post-apocalypse landscape is where you land if you teleport to the Tableau Vivant main store in Second Life. But good luck in finding any store around to spend money in! This is an extreme example of an apparent paradox of SL — there are places where so much creativity and work was obviously invested (not to mention rent fees) without any conceivable financial profit that you wonder how they can exist at all. Expensive labors of love?

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: World Today

Author:Marmaduke Arado

In Second Life I developed a show with my partner Kikas Babenco, and we participate in performances and improvisations around the grid. Meanwhile, I take a lot of pictures!

4 Comments on “22 July – Day 17”

  1. Monday, 23 July 2012 at 19:44 UTC #

    Wow Marma, this was an interesting adventure. I teleported to your coordinates and walked around. I noticed that the “mainstore” was at about 3.4km altitude (even higher than the nosebleed that is Trill Zapatero + Xue Faith’s Gallery Xue / Kandahar at a measly one kilo of altitude! 🙂

    And after a while… I FELL THRU A CRACK IN THE GROUND! 😛

    Interestingly, as I fell at about 1km I got one of those irritating “Security Orb Warnings” that I was going to be ejected in 2 seconds… haha, I don’t think I’ve ever gotten one of those warnings and NOT been ejected, but apparently that one was just for maybe a workshop or something at the 1km altitude and when I hit the ground I was allowed to stay and actually found the mainstore. It’s sort of vamp/goth-esque flavored. The customers seemed to have a lot of piercings. There’s a TP up to 2km where the “Mesh+Skin Store” is.

    Vaneeesa Blaylock stands in a dark, noir-ish courtyard with stone paving, green trees and a slate-colored building in the background

    Vaneeesa Blaylock at Tableau Vivant Mainstore in World of Beauty in Second Life

  2. Monday, 23 July 2012 at 21:14 UTC #

    My sense of adventure is being stimulated here!

  3. kikasbabenco
    Tuesday, 24 July 2012 at 23:11 UTC #

    This is a wonderful place when you go with the right person…

    • Wednesday, 25 July 2012 at 00:15 UTC #

      you mean, like… YOUR BODYGUARDBOT!?!?

      I hope he protects you from falling thru a crack in the world and tumbling 3,400 meters to almost certain doom! O_o

