Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller

KASSEL, 16 July — UK printmaker Anne E. Thomas makes the trek to dOCUMENTA (13) and discovers the site-specific sound experiences of Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller. As Thomas describes, Cardiff & Miller create sublime sound installations, often using Cardiff’s voice, that map onto existing spaces. The work, in a way, is a sort of “Audio AR” and like a visual installation from Mainfest.AR, Cardiff & Miller map a new experience, for “augmented humans,” onto the existing space. These new realities often map fictional elements onto “real” places and in experiencing their narrative exploration we discover new and deeper human truth.

thelinoprinter

Yesterday I visited dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel Germany. dOCUMENTA (13) is an international art festival, featuring contemporary art. It aims to reflect the ‘relationship between art and society’ and often has a political message associated with it. This years theme is space and paradox: “a space of many secrets, a space of violence and a space of potential healing”. The festival takes place every five years and runs from June to September.

After buying our tickets at Kassel Hauptbahnof (main train station), we went to the first exhibit – an interactive video installation by Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller. We were each given an iPod and headphones. On the iPod was the artist’s work. The piece took us on a walk around the train station. I don’t want to spoil it too much for anyone planning to go, but let me say the experience is far better than…

View original post 145 more words

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Augmented Reality, dOCUMENTA

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.

2 Comments on “Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller”

  1. Wednesday, 18 July 2012 at 12:39 UTC #

    Thank you very much for re-blogging this.

    • Wednesday, 18 July 2012 at 15:45 UTC #

      Hi Anne, thank YOU so much – it’s a beautiful post!

      We had one of our writers, Trilby Minotaur, in Kassel in the beginning of June and she filed a number of reports from there. Since then we’ve continued our dOCUMENTA (13) coverage via the magic of WordPress.com Reblogs, now including yours.
      http://irez.me/category/art-fairs/documenta/

      It’s an exciting way to be assemble the coverage of anything, especially something as sprawling in both space and time as d13. And it’s given us a way to see many installations and hear many voices considering the work.

      Your voice was beautifully articulated in your post and you’re also the first person I’ve noticed to write about Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller, whose work I have always found compelling and sublime. This is also the first time I’ve thought about their work since thinking so much about Augmented Reality and the many amazing projects of the collective Manifest.AR.

      As I wrote in my “comment,” Cardiff & Miller can be thought of as a sort of “Audio AR,” and in that way that audio has always had a “go with you” quality vs the hegemony of video, it can be a powerful experience, especially in the hands of artists so skilled and nuanced as Cardiff & Miller.

      Thank you for sharing the experience with us.

