Marissa Mayer

SUNNYVALE, CA, 16 July — 8 hours after reporting that long-time executive and Google Employee #20, Marissa Mayer, had just been appointed Yahoo CEO, Tech Crunch’s Colleen Taylor now reports that Mayer has just, as far as anyone knows, become the first Fortune 500 Tech CEO to announce that she’s pregnant. Tomorrow will be Mayer’s 1st day on the job, and also the day of Yahoo’s next quarterly earnings call. Taking your company public and getting married in the same week just doesn’t seem like such a big deal anymore.

 
Yahoo CEO Announcement / TechCrunch

 
Image of Marissa Mayer in front of a map

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: People

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.

6 Comments on “Marissa Mayer”

  1. Tuesday, 17 July 2012 at 07:46 UTC #

  2. Tuesday, 17 July 2012 at 20:05 UTC #

    “Why Women Still Can’t Have it All” – Anne-Marie Slaughter / The Atlantic
    http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2012/07/why-women-still-can-8217-t-have-it-all/9020/

    “Can Women in the Art World ‘Have It All’?” – Alanna Martinez / Blouin Artinfo
    http://artinfo.com/news/story/812919/can-women-in-the-art-world-have-it-all-responses-to-the-atlantics-contentious-article

  3. Tuesday, 17 July 2012 at 21:54 UTC #

    Ken Doctor on Mayer’s challenge in her 5.5 mile move east / Nieman Journalism Lab
    http://www.niemanlab.org/2012/07/the-newsonomics-of-marissa-mayers-yahoo-legacy-challenge/

  4. Wednesday, 18 July 2012 at 02:37 UTC #

    This is what I’d call bad ass!! You go girlfriend!!

    • Thursday, 19 July 2012 at 01:26 UTC #

      Aww, yay — the Ken Doctor article describes the tough circumstances she’ll face and plenty of peeps have failed there before her, but yes, it’s pretty cool.

  5. Thursday, 19 July 2012 at 04:44 UTC #

    the interview’s commin… 8 – 12 September:

    http://techcrunch.com/2012/07/18/yahoo-ceo-marissa-mayer-on-stage-at-techcrunch-disrupt-san-francisco/

