8 July – Day 2

Today being a lazy Sunday, I decided to go somewhere specific in Second Life to take a picture for sharing on World Today: I chose the Petrovsky Flux, an installation by blotto Epsilon, at the Spencer Art Museum sim[ulator]. A friend once said experiencing the Petrovsky Flux was reason enough to get into Second Life, and I agree! One thing the picture can’t convey is that the build is not static, it’s in a state of, well, flux, constantly shedding parts of the structure and growing new ones.

Tags: ,

Categories: World Today

Author:Marmaduke Arado

In Second Life I developed a show with my partner Kikas Babenco, and we participate in performances and improvisations around the grid. Meanwhile, I take a lot of pictures!

9 Comments on “8 July – Day 2”

  1. Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 21:15 UTC #

    Whoa! Very cool.

  2. Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 22:23 UTC #

    Wow Marma, this is so awesome! One thing you should totally do is put a SLURL for the places you show us!

    We can’t really just pop over to Brighton or San Jose to see the worlds that Katy or Ewa show us, but what’s so cool about virtual space and the art and environments there is ZIP! we can be there!

    Beautiful photo of a place I’ve never been, artist I didn’t know, and Virtual Museum I didn’t know.

    Marma’s erasing my cultural ignorance, one photo at a time! 🙂

    • Monday, 09 July 2012 at 15:15 UTC #

      😀 Vaneeesa, I’ve added the link! Be sure to set off a couple of hours for visiting the Petrovsky Flux!

  3. Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 22:49 UTC #

    Wow, brilliant! I had no idea that these sort of things could be found at SL as well!

    • Monday, 09 July 2012 at 01:34 UTC #

      Oh dear, and if I don’t login correctly on gravatar, I end up as a green alien!

      • Monday, 09 July 2012 at 02:23 UTC #

        Wut? I thought you WERE a green alien!?

        CUTE Green Alien, of course!

  4. Monday, 09 July 2012 at 19:10 UTC #

    wow… what a cool place. for me it looks like a mix of Brothers Grimm fairy tale with Animatrix…

    • kikasbabenco
      Saturday, 14 July 2012 at 16:25 UTC #

      bye the way, it’s a great place to wear Cutea Bennelli outfits 🙂

      • Saturday, 14 July 2012 at 20:04 UTC #

        oh oh, I love that! Marma the travel guide… Kikas the fashion stylist…

        Perhaps you should start posting what to wear advice!? 🙂

