7 July – Jackie

Jackie Graves and Vaneeesa Blaylock standing in front of Graves Leather Latex Metal. Graves in a hi-tech catsuit and Blaylock in a grey chiffon dress

LOCATION: GRAVES Leather Latex Metal, Oxymoron, Second Life
IN PHOTO: Jackie Graves & Vaneeesa Blaylock

Inspired by films like The Matrix, Jackie Graves has built a fashion empire of virtual Leather, Latex, and Metal designs, including the Graves Gravity suit she’s wearing. I can’t tell you how intimidated / lame I felt showing up in a chiffon dress! Jackie was very sweet, still, I tried to snap these pix as fast as possible, just, you know, to be sure she didn’t feel the sudden urge to slice me to ribbons! 😛

GRAVES Leather Latex Metal / Second Life
GRAVES Leather Latex Metal / Flickr Videos

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: World Today

Author:Vanessa Anne Blaylock

As a Virtual Public Artist my work invites virtual communities to express their identity, explore their culture, and demand their civil rights.

5 Comments on “7 July – Jackie”

  1. Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 00:47 UTC #

    Jackie Graves does look like something coming straight out of a fantasy Matrix RPG. What a cool looking avatar, right up my street! 😉

    • Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 01:38 UTC #

      haha, you know, I’ve talked to her (IM) a few times, but I think maybe I haven’t actually *seen* her for 3 years!

      She’s always had a lot of style, but I guess she has gotten a little edgier! 🙂

      Jackie Graves at GRAVES Leather Latex Metal

      • Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 01:40 UTC #

        Another cool avatar, that one has a certain crash test dummy aesthetic going on.

        • Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 01:46 UTC #

          Aww… “crash test dummy”??

          I’m sure you mean “Moonbase Alpha”

        • Sunday, 08 July 2012 at 01:56 UTC #

          You know, I hadn’t really thought about that… since, of course, I’m an SL wear-frilly-dress person at heart… but I guess if you’re from the more “Gamer” / Combat sorts of worlds… Jackie Graves work might be fairly appealing…

          It still has a lot of that SL high fashion sense… with a dose of Latex / Rubber fetish… but it is more “aggressive” than a lot of the huge SL “fashion industry” that’s more like the RL fashion industry.

          Then again, it’s a big world and I’m sure there’s tons of designers IDK about… but, yes, of the ones I know Graves is pretty unique.

          We talked this time last year about doing a big performance with her “Poison” outfit which is kind of a paramilitary outfit with smashing berets and nasty thigh-strapped syringes. It was going to be 5 different color teams that parachuted down to the “Clash” site…

          hmm… maybe we should finally do that one…

