Milena Berman – dOCUMENTA – Geoffrey Farmer

KASSEL, 1 July — And on the 22nd of dOCUMENTA (13)’s 100 days Milena Berman finds herself returning yet again to Leaves of Grass, Geoffrey Farmer’s monumental, 60 foot long sculptural collage of cut-outs from a half-century of Life Magazines, spanning 1935 – 1985

THEDOCUMENTATION

Living and working in Kassel during the dOCUMENTA with ongoing entry to the exhibitions, I have been in no rush to see all of the works. I have found the installations, sculptures, and ongoing performances to become part of my daily life. Each morning on my walk to work, I pass at least three of the cabins in Karlsaue park and Giuseppe Penone’s sculptural tree, or on a rainy day the tram takes me past the Neue Galerie and the Weinberg bunkers where visitors approach the exhibit wearing hard hats. The works are becoming more and more familiar, exposing personalities and revealing new layers.

In a situation such as this, it is interesting to find which works call for a second, third, or tenth look. Aside from the public works, I have returned to see Leaves of Grass, the compelling sculptural collage of Geoffrey Farmer in the Neue Gallerie. 

Composed…

View original post 102 more words

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: dOCUMENTA

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.

2 Comments on “Milena Berman – dOCUMENTA – Geoffrey Farmer”

  1. Tuesday, 03 July 2012 at 21:18 UTC #

    Wonderful post.Best regards. Jalal Michael

    • Tuesday, 03 July 2012 at 21:56 UTC #

      Hey Jalal, thanks for visiting! 🙂

