Tech Crunch – Strange Days

Screen Cap from frame of the trailer for 1995 Kathryn Bigelow film "Strange Days"

INSIDE THE MATRIX, 27 June — Tech Crunch’s Sarah Perez remembers Kathryn Bigelow’s 17-year-old film Strange Days and contemplates the long quest to merge humanity, technology, and experience.

TechCrunch

Have you ever jacked in? Have you ever wire tripped? No? [smirk] A virgin brain. Well, we’re gonna start you off right. This isn’t like “TV only better”, this is life. Yeah, this is a piece of somebody’s life. Pure and uncut, straight from the cerebral cortex. You’re there! You’re doing it, seeing it, hearing-hearing it. You’re feeling it. It’s about the stuff you can’t have, right? Like running into a liquor store with a .357 magnum in your hand, feeling the adrenaline pumping through your veins.

In 1995, long before Tom Cruise was waving his hands around in now eerily true-to-life vision of the future that was “Minority Report,” another science fiction drama was also painting a picture of the darker side of technology. In director Kathryn Bigelow’s “Strange Days,” (written by James Cameron and Jay Cocks), people and the technology they used to record their lives had practically merged.

Using…

View original post 852 more words

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Cinema

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
