Karlsaue

KASSEL, 23 June — dOCUMENTA (13) dAY (14) Two weeks into the 100 days, San Francisco based art historian Milena Berman of theDOCUMENTAtion blog, and also of the d13 press office, reports on the 3,000 journalists stomping, often muddy shoe’d, through Kassel, and her efforts to help keep their spirits up in the face of so much powerful work around the d13 theme of “Collapse and Recovery.” To help the journalists recover she often directs them to gelato, bratwurst, and walks through Karlsaue Park.

THEDOCUMENTATION

 

Working in the press office of the dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel, Germany, I have been confronted with journalists from all over the world in all matter of sorts. Their attitudes have varied from excited enthusiasm during the preview days to defeated exhaustion after hours and miles of contemporary art navigation and it must be said, these nearly 3,000 media reporters are troopers. They come often misdirected with maps and muddy shoes having traversed the city in attempts to see all of the art dOCUMENTA (13) has to offer in a short amount of time. They come often, asking for tips. I am asked what to see when one only has two days or two hours, how best to route one’s way through the exhibitions, or most interestingly common, has been the question of where to go to stay in a good mood.

 

Director Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev gave the dOCUMENTA…

View original post 78 more words

Tags: , , ,

Categories: dOCUMENTA

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
