ARtSENSE Commission Research at FACT in Liverpool

Image of Liverpool with Augmented Reality overlay of things citizens have told researchers they have lost

LIVERPOOL, 22 June — Artists from ManifestAR has traveled here to work with FACT and the ARtSENSE Consortium on a city-wide project to map loss and then return some of the lost through AR technology. Combining media from vox pop video on loss which is GPS mapped around the city, to gallery visitors recording EEG tracings of loss, ManifestAR will then populate the augmented city with lost objects.

John Craig Freeman

In June, four other founding members of ManifestAR including Will Pappenheimer, Mark Skwarek, Tamiko Thiel, John Cleater and I traveled to Liverpool to meet with the FACT curatorial team and ARtSENSE researchers from Liverpool John Moores University to discuss the upcoming “Inside Out” exhibition in February 2013.

20120622135145

Mike Stubbs and Aneta Krzemien, via Skype, FACT Liverpool, 21 June, 2012.

My project “EEG AR: Things We Have Lost,” will allow participants to conjure up virtual objects by simply imagining them into existence using brainwave sensor technology.

Read more.

Video by Carl Davies and Mike Donaghy.

Please see Dowser, by Will Pappenheimer.

View the ManifestAR/ARtSENSE Show and Tell public presentation at The Box, FACT, 19th of June, 2012.

IMAG0458

Will, Clara and Mark. Rooftop deck and community garden, FACT Liverpool, 12 June, 2012.

View original post

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Augmented Reality

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
