Zoë Saldaña

Photo collage of  Zoë Saldaña as Uhura in Star Trek and Neytiri in Avatar

PANDORA, 19 June — Wut? Uhura is Neytiri!? How did I miss that memo!? Also in the things I didn’t know file, actor Zoë Saldaña who plays them both, turns 34 today. Thanks to the socialpsychol blog for curbing my ignorance.
 
 
In the random serendipity file, Saldaña shares a hometown, Passaic, NJ, with land artist Robert Smithson. Smithson’s 1967 Artforum essay The Monuments of Passaic, aka “A Tour of the Monuments of Passaic, New Jersey,” has always been such an influential piece for me. I referenced it on the occasion of Blue Mars demise:
 
The Monuments of Virtual Passaic

socialpsychol

Zoe Saldana (born June 19, 1978), sometimes stylized Zoë Saldaña, is an American actress. She had her breakthrough role in the 2000 film Center Stage and the 2002 film Crossroads. She later gained prominence for her roles as Anamaria in Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, Uhura in the 2009 film Star Trek, and a starring role as Neytiri in James Cameron’s megahit Avatar. She has since shared lead roles in the action films The Losers (2010) and Columbiana (2011). She will return for sequels to Star Trek in 2013, and Avatar in 2016 and beyond.

View original post

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Cinema

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.

3 Comments on “Zoë Saldaña”

  1. Sunday, 24 June 2012 at 23:29 UTC #

    Zoe should have gotten an Oscar. She’s a real actress and her role as Neytiri is classic for all time, like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz. She deserved the Oscar.

    • Monday, 25 June 2012 at 05:23 UTC #

      I think life is a balancing act of ignoring most of culture as irrelevant… without being so detached and elitist that you have no frame of reference or bearing… haha…

      The academy awards are not the ultimate arbiter of anything. What you just wrote about how that performance was impactful for you is really what matters.

      The actors who dominate the academy seldom reward works of speculative fiction, and that particular year you had the undercurrent of Avatar’s James Cameron monumentally screwing his ex wife, Kathryn Bigelow, producer-director of The Hurt Locker, in their divorce settlement. I think many truly believed Hurt Locker was a more substantive film and would have voted for it anyway, but there was also an undercurrent of addressing the wrong of Hollywood power divorce court.

      Add to that the fact that the Oscars are no different that a rough-and-tumble political fight with both studios and celebrities commissioning detailed research on how to negative campaign against their nominated opponents and campaign hard for an award that sometimes means real money at the box office for the Hollywood business.

      The number of Hollywood choices that don’t stand the test of time is myriad. Among the most compelling for me is Orson Wells 1958 film “Touch of Evil.” The studio didn’t understand or appreciate Wells vision, took the film away from him, chopped it up, and more or less dumped it.

      Jean-Luc Godard and Francois Truffaut were judges at the 1958 Brussels World’s Fair Film Festival. They voted “Touch of Evil” best film of the fair and it influenced the French New Wave Cinema that they were creating.

      Ultimately I think we have to make an effort to understand the perspectives of others. In the old 1-to-many 20th century we didn’t hear that many voices, now in our own many-to-many voices century there’s a whole lot more diversity, endless opinions, tons of disagreement. For the post that follows this one, about “Rock of Ages,” I was amazed at how many blogs I found declaring the film “Absolutely Fantastic” or “Utterly Moronic.”

      An age of many voices.

      Hear them all.

      Know what you believe.

      • Monday, 25 June 2012 at 10:11 UTC #

        Hi VB… I had no idea about Cameron, and as you say, just the powerful impact the film had on me. I try not to know about all the goings on in Hollywood, expecially the divorces. The things people do to one another in divorce, especially what powerful men do to the women they swore to cherish is too sickening to bear. I’ve seen too much of that up close and personal, including the process that members of the Academy (used to know several) go through. I fled Hollywood many years ago. And flee reality when I head into SL every night. Things can be ugly in SL too, but it’s a lot easier to turn it all off when I turn off the pc. You have an amazing knowledge and point of view. I’m up way tooo late. Hugs

