How Public Art Can Activate Public Space

CHARLOTTE, NC, Friday 22 June — #ArtsMgtChat founder & moderator Ally Yusuf is holding her bi-monthly Twitter Chat today at 2pm EDT / 20:00 CEST on the topic of Public Art & Public Space. If you’re passionate about the arts, fire up your twitter account and join the virtual conversation.

#artsmgtchat

This week, we are discussing “Arts & Its Role in Urban Planning and Renewal” on #artsmgtchat, and thought this would be a great resource to share ahead of the conversation. Public Space, Public Art & Public Life is a panel discussion that explores the interplay between art and architecture in urban spaces. The discussion was moderated by USC Norman Lear Center Director Martin Kaplan The panel included Christopher JanneyScott Fisher, chair of the Interactive Media Division of the USC School of Cinematic Arts; Robert Kraft, composer and CEO of Fox Music, Inc.; and USC School of Architecture dean Qingyun Ma, among others.

What is public art? And if you know what public art is, what is art? What about public life – are we all on stage? Is life just reality TV minus the cameras? And if we’re all performers…

View original post 11 more words

Tags: , ,

Categories: Public Space

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.

4 Comments on “How Public Art Can Activate Public Space”

  1. Tuesday, 19 June 2012 at 00:10 UTC #

    Hi Vaneesa,

    Thank you so much for the reblog, as well as the Twitter chat mention. Hope you can join us! Also, you have a great blog 🙂

    Best, Ally

    • Tuesday, 19 June 2012 at 00:22 UTC #

      Hi Ally, yes, I just discovered #ArtsMgtChat today – wow – such a wonderful project you’ve been producing!

      Yes, I’ll plan to “see” you – in the virtual public square – on Friday!

      I was fortunate to attend CAA in February and wrote several posts about Public Space / Public Art panels:

      http://irez.me/2012/02/24/public-art-virtual-sphere/
      http://irez.me/2012/02/29/where-is-public-space/
      http://irez.me/2012/03/01/un-space-ground/
      http://irez.me/2012/03/03/nancy-popp/

      • Tuesday, 19 June 2012 at 00:36 UTC #

        I appreciate that, Vaneeesa! Glad you can make it, and I look forward to reading (ahem “nerding out”) the articles you provided. Are you based in the US or UK? And, I’d love to learn about how made this blog such a community success that I aspire to one day for #artsmgtchat?

        Thank you — Ally

        • Tuesday, 19 June 2012 at 02:45 UTC #

          Aww Ally, you flatter us!

          Wait, which blog is a “community success”?? You must have posted that on the wrong blog by mistake! 😛

          haha, anyway, your site looks great. IDK if we’re any kind of success, but we’ve added a few more authors recently and I’m excited about the diversity of voices and topics that’s bringing in. There’s still tons of room for me to blab on about ideas I care about, but I do think it’s a richer pool for the community now.

          Your blog seems to be in great shape already, but if there’s anything I can help with or info I can share, don’t hesitate to ask!

          And I’m in The Hague.

