Art Week in Basel: Schaulager Satellite and Herzog & deMeuron construction

BASEL, 16 June — As if all the dOCUMENTA (13) action in Kassel weren’t enough, it’s also Art 43 Basel this weekend! Whereas Documenta is 100 days once every 5 years, Basel is 4 days every year. (there are also sattelites: Art Basel Miami Beach in December and Art Basel Hong Kong in May)

In this post Robin takes us on an architecture tour of Art Basel.

Robins Mail Art. And other things

Architecture aficionados will find the Messeplatz of this weeks Art Basel to be a special treat. Walking from Downtown Basel towards Messe they will see a new, somewhat organic-looking shape crossing what used to be the open Messeplatz underneath the Messeturm:

20120616-112635.jpg
It is the new Messe add-on by Basels most prestigious architecture firm Herzog & deMeuron. It is still under construction, but already looking amazing.
Crossing underneath it onto the still open part of Messeplatz, they will see another Herzog & deMeuron construction, Schaulagers temporary ‘Satellite’, which shows off some pieces of Schaulagers amazing collection of contemporary art and videos about the concept and history of Schaulager, which are really interesting.
I have blogged a picture of this a couple days ago, but here is another one from above, taken from the 30th floor of Messeturm:

20120616-113607.jpg

View original post

Tags: , ,

Categories: Art Basel

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
