You’re A Bumby….Just Not As Cool.

WILLIAMSBURG, BROOKLYN, 5 June — Like Sheryl Oring, The Bumbys have fetishized the pivotal cultural artifact of the typewriter, and transformed it into a compelling live performance experience. Blogger Stylish Piggy reports.

Stylish Piggy

This is Jill and Gill Bumby. (not their real names)

A masked and mute hip duo traveling the party circuit with their typewriters giving brave patrons a “fair and honest appraisal of their appearance”.

 You wait in a line until it’s your turn, you stand there awkwardly while a disguised person looks you up and down and then starts typing like a mad person. I gotta tell ya, I just love, love, this.

It’s a prime example of someone taking something that already exists and tweaking it until it becomes creative money making genius.

We are all pretty much Bumby’s on a daily basis, aren’t we? Making our snap judgement of people with just a glance.  Although, in the Bumby’s case, they keep their poetic appraisals on a positive note and…they are completely fly.  Check The Bumby’s out in action.

Cool, good karma and a check…sign me up for a franchise.

 xoxo

-stylishpiggy

View original post

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Performance Art

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
