Bookyard

GHENT, BELGIUM, 4 June — What? What? iRez’ Trilby Minotaur NOT the only bookbinder heading to dOCUMENTA (13)!? Yes, it’s true, Rachel Marsden will also be heading over soon to see, among other things, what “Library in the Park” artist Massimo Bartolini has in store for Kassel.

Rachel Marsden's Words

Nothing like stumbling across an outdoor library just before you go to sleep…pre-dreamtime smiles for Rachel that’s for sure. And yes, I love books…you should know that by now. This “bookyard” was made by the Italian artist Massimo Bartolini for the Belgian Art Festival, TRACK: a contemporary city conversation in Ghent. He will actually be exhibiting new work as part of dOCUMENTA (13) this year and I’m hoping I get the chance to see it whilst I’m back in Europe in July. Bartolini has installed twelve bookcases in St Peter’s Abbey vineyard, Sint-Pietersplein 14, which was established in the Middle Ages. The green shelves have been constructed upon a small grassy field that moves up the gradual slope of St Peter’s Abbey in line with their vines. The units are filled with books for sale by the public libraries of Ghent and Antwerp with the profits of these items going…

View original post 152 more words

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: dOCUMENTA

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
