Telematic Billboards Tailored Just For You

ATLANTA, 17 May — Marketer Jennifer A. Jones feels the schizophrenia of our age in her simultaneous excitement and repulsion at the coming age of “Telematic Billboards,” aka, Augmented Reality everything!

JENNIFER JONES BLOG

This is either super cool or super scary. As usual, I’m of split minds on the subject because the marketer and technology nerd in me loves it. But, the consumer who values her privacy has got the heebie-jeebies a little bit.

GM filed a patent to use data collected from its OnStar service to tailor public advertisements to individual drivers.

The patent leverages location-based information from OnStar’s navigation system and includes the use of in-vehicle cameras to determine unspecified demographics of vehicle occupants. Even seat positions could be used to determine a driver’s age, height and weight.

Wired has some interesting ideas of what these ads could look like:

Nightmare scenarios flooded our thoughts. Kids in the backseat? Be prepared to see ads for Happy Meals and nearby amusement parks. Headed to the doctor’s office? A friendly reminder to schedule a colonoscopy, in flashing 40-foot letters.

Wired notes that like many…

View original post 221 more words

Tags: , ,

Categories: Augmented Reality

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.

One Comment on “Telematic Billboards Tailored Just For You”

  1. Wednesday, 30 May 2012 at 06:27 UTC #

    Nice, recent blog post by Doc Searls on whether targeting works:
    http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/doc/2012/05/23/after-facebook-fails/

