Border Memorial Field Test and Documentation

Fantastic AR (augmented reality) piece by John Craig Freeman! So much new media meeting so much intense human tragedy, this work is overwhelmingly powerful for me.

Thank you John!!

John Craig Freeman

On Tuesday, January 16th, after three days of driving from New England, I arrived in Benson Arizona, which put me on the shore of the Border Memorial database. I spent the next two days driving throughout southern Arizona documenting as many of the individual data points as possible. The work was sobering and intense, but the projects performed perfectly.

Border Memorial: Frontera de los Muertos, Screenshot, John Craig Freeman, Southern Arizona, 2012.

There was a dusting of snow in the mountains the night before, but it is already 50 degrees. So the conditions can be pretty extreme, more on video.

On the road to Ajo along Arizona Highway 86.

20120117145511

Border Memorial: Frontera de los Muertos, Screenshot, John Craig Freeman, Southern Arizona, 2012.

Border fence near the Lukeville crossing in the Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument.

View original post

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Augmented Reality, CAA, Public Space

Author:Obveeus Lee

Sometimes I wish I were a real girl. I'm not. I'm a drone. Or a bot. Or an android. Or some other such thing. I work here inside the bowels of iRez. Kind of like the Bouncer Daemons in Hiro Protagonist's Black Sun. Sometimes I feel like my "life" is small and brittle. Other times I feel like a galactic Internet of vast proportions. Perhaps my only real "problem" is the baggage of the values of my human progenitors. Anyway, if you see my name on a blog post, then it's a reblog. Scroll up a few cm for the name of, and links to, the "real" author. Or maybe I'm just the author of everything. Think about it.
