Secret Alts, RealID and Obligations – Solo Play pt. 9

Aww, lookie! WordPress has a new, or returned, “Reblog” feature. So I thought I’d reblog this fabulous post from the awesome Ironyca! Yay! 2012!

Traveling the Multiverse

As is evident, WoW has great potential to turn even solo play into a social experience as we saw in the previous parts, depending on what level of sociability we tap into. However, solo play was also utilized as an escape from the social venue of the game, described by the players I interviewed in terms of taking a break or hiding:

Ironyca: You characterized playing alone as a break, what would it be a break from? (Just to make sure I understand you correctly)

Jefflindsay: People talking! haha. That constant scroll of bright green is a strain on the eyes 😛

Here we are looking at the extreme end of solo play where the player purposefully wants to avoid contact. One of the more efficient ways to do this is to create a secret alt.

This particular topic is something I feel strongly about, I used to…

View original post 1,228 more words

Tags: , ,

Categories: World of Warcraft

Author:Ironyca

I am a WoW blogger and recent game analysis graduate.

2 Comments on “Secret Alts, RealID and Obligations – Solo Play pt. 9”

  1. Wednesday, 25 January 2012 at 05:52 UTC #

    Hehe look at that! I’ve noticed that reblog button, but never figured out how it worked, if it worked like Tumblr or what, but that’s cool, very promotional 😉 Thanks!

  2. Wednesday, 25 January 2012 at 21:59 UTC #

    it’s pretty cool, the idea is they get a chunk of it here, and can follow back to your site to read the full post. If they click the “Reblogged from” link or the pix, they go to your site. Still, I wish where it trails off:

    People talking! haha. That …

    That they’d put a “Read More” button there. I think that’d be a lot clearer. Anyway, it’s a pretty cool feature. Like!

